Our Research Team

Our Core Research Team is made up of world-class CCS academics who specialise in all aspects of CCS technology and deployment. Research Team members are responsible for different areas of the core research programme but meet together regularly to share findings and knowledge. 

Dr Solomon Brown

Solomon Brown, University of Sheffield, was awarded the Frank Lees Medal 2009 by the IChemE. Since 2011 he has authored over 31 peer reviewed publications.

Dr Kyra Sedransk Campbell

Kyra Sedransk Campbell, Imperial College London,  is a Royal Society - EPSRC Dorothy Hodgkin Research Fellow working on materials degradation and decomposition.

Prof Meihong Wang

Meihong Wang is principal author of the most cited paper published in Chem. Eng. Res. Des. since 2010 (on post combustion carbon capture).


Dr Hannah Chalmers

Hannah Chalmers, Univeristy of Edinburgh, has unique expertise in CCS operational integration, network leadership and ECR mentoring.

Dr Stuart Gilfillan

Stuart Gilfillan, University of Edinburgh, has invented geochemical methods of CO2 fingerprinting from source to store.

Prof Hao Liu

Hao Liu, University of Nottigham, has 25 years’ research experience in CCS, combustion, power plant engineering and fluidised beds.

Prof Phil Bowen

Phil Bowen, Director of Cardiff University’s Research Institute in Energy Systems (ESURI), and Gas Turbine Research Centre (GTRC), specialises in combustion and thermofluid system simulation and measurement.

Dr Karen Finney

Karen Finney, University of Sheffield, conducts experimental and theoretical investigations into thermal processes for sustainable, lowcarbon energy, including CCS, with two research sabbaticals at Alstom Power Ltd/GE Power.

Dr Clair Gough

Clair Gough, University of Manchester, has > 20 years’ experience in integrated technical and social science analyses, featuring long term scenarios and public and stakeholder participation in the context of energy and climate change, CCS and BECCS.

Dr Richard Marsh

Richard Marsh, Cardiff University, expertise includes methane oxycombustion for capture ready power plants, power plant flexibility and use of alternative fuels and swirl combustion processes.

Dr Mathieu Lucquiaud

Mathieu Lucquiaud, University of Edinburgh, is a Royal Academy of Engineering Research Fellow working on power generation systems with CO2 capture, operational flexibility and solvent post-combustion capture.

Dr Niall Mac Dowell

Niall Mac Dowell, Imperial College London, (Centre for Environmental Policy and CPSE) is on the Executive Board of the IChemE’s Energy Centre. He has published work on CCS at molecular, unit, integrated process and network scales.

Prof Lin Ma

Lin Ma, University of Sheffield, combines multiscale computational modelling with experimental investigations to further develop capture technology, and has co-authored over 200 peer reviewed research papers.

Dr Sarah Mander

Sarah Mander, University of Manchester,  focuses on climate change mitigation and researches renewable energy, long term energy scenarios, sustainable energy in the urban environment, recycling and climate change governance.

Dr Stuart Scott

Stuart Scott works on high temperature fuel conversion and capture processes. He has led several multidisciplinary EPRSC-funded projects on aspects of high temperature looping for carbon capture.

Dr Jerome Neufeld

Jerome Neufeld, University of Cambridge, works on fluid dynamics of geological CO2 storage, including propagation and leakage of CO2 plumes and methods for seismic detection of their morphology, and rates of stable CO2 storage through dissolution or capillary trapping.

Dr Julia Race

Julia Race worked in industry for over 20 years, latterly as an integrity consultant for GE Oil and Gas providing fitness-for-purpose, remaining life and corrosion assessments (onshore and offshore pipelines). Returned to academia in 2005.

Prof Nilay Shah

Nilay Shah, Imperial College London, FREng is Director of the Centre for Process Systems Engineering (CPSE) and leads Imperial’s Manufacturing Futures Lab. He received the RSC Beilby Medal (2005), IChemE Hutchison Medal (2012).


Prof Mohamed Pourkashanian

Mohamed Pourkashanian, University of Sheffield, heads the UoS Energy-2050 initiative, holds a chair in Energy Engineering, is General Secretary for the International Flame Research Foundation, and is Director of the Pilot-Scale Advanced CO2 Capture Technology (PACT) national facilities.

Dr Gareth Williams

Gareth Williams, British Geological Survey, has been working on time-lapse seismic analysis for CCS for several years, including the development of advanced algorithms. He's published on a range of topics from deep subsurface structure to CCS including work on spectral analysis of the Sleipner seismic datasets.

Prof Ben Anthony

Ben Anthony, Cranfield University,  is currently Professor in Energy Process Systems at Cranfield University, and was a senior research scientist with Natural Resources Canada. 220+ journal papers, co-editor of the 1st book on Pressurized Fluidised Beds and (with PF) a book on high temperature looping cycles.

Dr Paul Dodds

Paul Dodds, University College London, is Associate Professor in Energy Systems and led development of the UK TIMES model that the UK Government used to inform the Clean Growth Strategy.

Prof Stuart Haszeldine

Stuart Haszeldine FRSE, University of Edinburgh, holds the first Chair of CCS and was awarded the OBE for services to climate technologies.


Prof Paul Fennell

Paul Fennell (Deputy Director Capture) was joint director of ICL’s Centre for CCS. He has edited one book on high-temperature looping cycles, has 60 papers, 2 patents and is the 2015 winner of the IChemE’s Ambassador prize.

Prof Andy Chadwick

Andy Chadwick, British Geological Survey, is a NERC Individual Merit Research Scientist specialising in subsurface geological processes, time-lapse geophysical monitoring and predictive numerical modelling. He is author of > 80 papers on CCS and was recently awarded the MBE for services to the science of carbon sequestration.

Dr Sam Krevor

Sam Krevor, Imperial College London,  is a Senior Lecturer in the Department of Earth Science & Engineering. He is the Principal Investigator for the subsurfaceCO2 Group at Imperial College London. Their work is focused on the migration and trapping of CO2 in the subsurface, and limitations from plume migration and pressurisation to the CO2 storage capacity.

Dr David Reiner

David Reiner, University of Cambridge, has two decades’ experience on social, political and economic aspects of climate policy and CCS. He has led studies on public and stakeholder acceptance of CCS on four continents, and has been involved in scenario design and economic modelling (both CGE and MARKAL) of climate policy and has served as an advisor to government, industry and NGOs on CCS.

Prof Goran Strbac

Goran Strbac, Imperial College London, is a leading authority in advanced modelling and analysis of operation, planning, security and economics of energy systems. He is a member of the Steering Committee of the SmartGrids European Technology Platform, co-chair of EU WG on Sustainable Districts and Built Environment of Smart Cities and Director of the UK Centre for Grid Scale Energy Storage.

Dr Camille Petit

Dr. Camille Petit, Imperial College London, focuses on the synthesis, characterisation and testing of metal-organic frameworks (MOFs)- and nitride-based nanomaterials for molecular separations (incl. CO2 capture) as well as photocatalysis. Recently, she received the 2017 AIChE’s 35 under 35 award, the 2017 IOM3 Silver Medal in ‘recognition of an outstanding contribution from an early career researcher to a field of interest within the Materials sector’, and the 2015 IChemE Sir Frederick Warner medal for ‘showing exceptional promise in the field of sustainable chemical process technology’.