Webinar: US National Petroleum Council – A Roadmap to At-Scale Deployment of Carbon Capture, Use, and Storage – 21 January 2020

A webinar from the Clean Energy Ministerial CCUS Initiative on Tuesday 21 January 08:00 – 09:00 EST / 13:00 – 14:00 GMT / 14:00 – 15:00 CET / 21:00 – 22:00 CST

A webinar on the NPC’s recently concluded study detailing three phases of specific, actionable recommendations needed to achieve CCUS deployment at scale in the US over the next 25 years.
In 2017, the U.S. Secretary of Energy tasked the National Petroleum Council (NPC) to study the actions needed to deploy CCUS technologies at scale in the United States. Now completed, this 18-month study and final report involved over 300 participants from diverse backgrounds and organisations, with most from outside the oil and natural gas industry. The United States leads the world in CCUS deployment today with approximately 80% of the world’s CO2 capture capacity, but this represents less than 1% of the U.S. CO2 emissions from stationary sources. Increasing deployment can deliver benefits and favourably position the U.S. to participate in new market opportunities as the world transitions to a lower carbon energy system.
The roadmap builds the case for CCUS in the United States, and details three phases of specific, actionable recommendations needed to achieve deployment at scale over the next 25 years. The
roadmap stresses that at-scale deployment requires strong collaboration between industry and government; improved policies, financial incentives, and regulations; broad-based innovation and
technology development; and increased understanding and confidence in CCUS. Along with significant reduction in U.S. stationary source emissions and related environmental benefits, implementation of the recommendations in this report can create domestic jobs, benefit the economy, and augment energy security priorities.
Find more information on the Clean Energy Ministerial website here.
Register here.